How about a New Pledge of Allegiance?

In response to our earlier post, The Strange Origin of the Pledge of Allegiance, a commentator suggested a New Pledge of Allegiance.  Read them below and tell us what you think.

C.J. wrote:

Here’s a couple of versions I’ve come up with:

“I pledge allegiance to the freedom lovers of America, and to all who understand, that no nation shall take precedence over liberty and justice for all.”

“I pledge allegiance to myself and to seeking freedom in America, and to all who understand, that no nation shall take precedence over liberty and justice for all.”

I like both versions.  The second one because it reminds me of Ayn Rand’s book, The Virtue of Selfishness.

2 responses to “How about a New Pledge of Allegiance?

  1. Both beat the present pledge to the state.

  2. How about no pledge of allegiance? Those of us who love this nation will love it just the same without a pledge. Those who are working to destroy America will gladly stand up and recite the pledge, because they want you to think that they are good citizens and not a threat.