Property Taxes – Kent McManigal

From Kent McManigal:

Property taxes

By the time I was around 10 years old I had already developed a sense that I wanted a cabin in the mountains where I would hunt and gather my own food, make my own buckskin clothes, and just be left alone to live as I wanted (much to the eternal distress of my conventional parents).

I had it all figured out … until my parents informed me that if I didn’t pay “property tax” on the land the government would take it away from me.

Even at that age, I knew that this was ridiculous and wrong. If you own something, you OWN it. You don’t have to pay a yearly ransom to keep it!I think “property tax” is fundamentally more evil than other “taxes“. ALL “taxes” are theft-by-government at gunpoint and not justifiable, but “property tax” raises the bar for evil. And those stolen dollars are used to fund the despicable government indoctrination system.
Consider this: If you do not want to pay “sales tax” you could theoretically barter and trade for all the goods that you couldn’t produce for yourself.
Hate the “income tax”? Do what I did and reduce your income to zero (or barely above that).
But how to have a HOME and not have “property tax”? Some people claim you can avoid “property taxes” by renting. I think they are wrong. You could rent, but even then the landlord has to include the cost of the “property tax” into the rent, or he loses money- and will probably ultimately lose the house and you’ll still be out of a home. To really avoid “property taxes” you could be a squatter, or you could be a “permanent tourist”. These strategies work for some people but have their own risks and problems.
Unfortunately the desire to have a homestead is one of the strongest urges for humans. We are very territorial creatures. Governments exploit this basic human desire because they are allowed to.
3 responses to “Property Taxes – Kent McManigal

  1. I’ve been telling people for years that you cannot really own property in the United States. After you pay off your mortgage you still have to pay property taxes which means the government actually owns the property, because they will take it away from you–by force if necessary–if you don’t pay the taxes. (And, yes, if you refuse to give up what should legally be yours, the government will even use deadly force if they have to.)

    I’m all for the least amount of taxes, being a hardcore Libertarian. Unfortunately, most Americans are for the most amount of government. Why else would our nation be on the brink of economic disaster from spending more than it takes in? The people allow this tax and spend mentality to exist. So it’s not realistic to think that we will get rid of some form of property tax. Why not make it a sales tax, amoratized over the length of the mortgage. Once the mortgage is paid off so is the tax and the property can be owned free and clear: freehold. If the property is sold then a new sales tax would apply.

    I was in Ireland back in 1984 and was talking to a man I had met. He told me about all the properties he owned and I asked him what his property tax was. He looked at me like I was crazy. “They’re paid off,” he said. “I own them freehold.” That was an epiphany to me and I realized just how unfree the United States had become. Of course, I imagine that by now they have instituted property tax in Ireland too.

  2. If you barter items or services, you are still responsible for paying federal income and potentially state sales tax, depending on the specific item or service and your state laws, on the fair market value of that item or service.

    Of course, this is virtually unenforceable, however it doesn’t mean that you are “free” to barter in a tax-free way, because you are violating the law.

    • Violating an unjust law is a perfect form of civil disobedience. Taxation (theft) should be avoided and circumvented as much as possible. To retain the higher moral ground you must also refuse to partake in the tax plunder by refusing to accept public “benefits” when you have the choice. This is part of “self rule”. Stop partaking in the stolen loot – and don’t let your property be stolen from you either.